State of the Union 2010

I usually get bored with political speeches until I heard Obama.  I really like what he uttered on his inauguration and in Egypt where he bridge the gap between America and the Middle East.  But, I was not that impressed with his state of union.  Actually, I see no wrong to his speech.  It’s just that I could not connect his state of the union address to “American dream.”   Although Obama mentioned his High-Speed Rail vision and he may have pleased the environmentalist, ultimately this project fall short of what known 20th century American Presidents have accomplished.  Let me refresh you with some (some are not literally connected to State of the Union):

Franklin Delano Roosevelt (Bombing of Tokyo Japan in retaliation to its invasion of Pearl Harbor, etc.) 

Harry Truman (First Atomic Bom, Creation of Central Intelligence Agency, etc.) 

Theodore Roosebelt  (The Construction of Panama Canal  – man made canal connecting Pacific and Atlantic Ocean)

 

Herbert Hoover (Construction of Hoover Dam to battle the great depression, etc.)

 

John F. Kenedy (Race to the moon, etc.)

 

Ronald Reagan (Star Wars Space Station, etc.)

Although Benjamin Franklin was not from the 20th Centrury, let me include him as his legacy paved the way why America became the land of the free.

I know this was just Obama’s first year as President and he still needs more time.  President Obama deserves the benefit of the doubt.  Nonetheless, I hope President Obama take into consideration the “American Dream” as it is the cornerstone why America is America today and is different from other countries of world. 

US President Barak Obama has so much achievement already for himself.  I won’t pretend to know it all but he seems to be in the news everyday since the US Presidential election.  Books written about him seem to sell like hotcakes and he even won the prestigious Nobel Peace Prize.  Only a number of presidents have this accomplishment (even world leaders).  I believed it will make Obama greater if he humbly follow the footsteps of the great American Presidents and   learn how they creatively face recessions and all sorts of war through inspiring extreme projects and impossible mission.  

Photo is excerpt from google images