Year of the Tiger

These were the years of the Tiger:

1902, 1914, 1926, 1938, 1950, 1962, 1974, 1986, 1998 and 2010.

The Chinese is one of the oldest civilization and has one of the most unique ways in celebrating events as New Year.  They use the lunar calendar so their New Year falls somewhere between late January and early February.  The cycle of twelve animal signs originates from Chinese tradition as a way of naming the years. The animals follow one another in an established order and are replicated every twelve years. The rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig are the twelve animal signs. Each animal has its particular characteristics.  Chinese traditions believed that people born in a specific year are believed to take on these characteristics.

For 2010, Chinese New Year falls on February 14,  and ends on February 2.

Image was excerpt from Google Images

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: